Top

Heavy Metal, straight from the pot!


Action: BIWO
Base: Castrop-Rauxel • Germany
Genre: Melodic Heavy Metal
Title: Life And Death
FFO: Wizard, Rebellion,
early Majesty
Format: Album
Label: Independent
Release: Nov. 11, 2022


Bulletpoints:
• Refreshing debut album of a true idealist
• Straightforward, 100 % honest & all around spirited
• Timeless-classic Heavy Metal of the old school


BIWO stands for absolutely honest, infectiously catchy, emphatically down-to-earth and classically timeless MELODIC HEAVY METAL with a well-dosed shot of Teutonic bullishness.



[Single "Live And Death" ]


Mastermind Sven Biwo explains "Live Now":
"There are enough assholes in the world - people who want to pull you down. We invite you to forget all that shit for a moment. Live now - and do what you feel like doing! Because tomorrow might be too late. Don't waste your time with negative stuff - grab a beer, raise your fist and shout it out loud!"


It is clear to hear that here is a musically thoroughly inspired genre fan ambitious at the start, who makes his real music for just such real fans - uncomplicated Heavy Metal brotherhood is there so very heavy!



[ Pic: Pedyfotografie Fotoschmiede ]



The enormously varied and sustainably catchy songs breathe the unique, unused 80s spirit with delicious fervor and in such depth that you simply cannot escape the charm of BIWO if you feel sincerely connected to the early Heavy Metal from that time.
Yes, we mean the very special time when the blessed and equally obscure GAMA Records released unforgettable records by top artists like Stormwitch, Veto and Tyran' Pace - and the scene cult around it grows with every year.

Self-promoting and giga-virtuoso orgies of perfection are therefore not at all what BIWO is about, rather the eternally attractive underground is indulged in.

And although bandleader Sven sees himself more as a soloing mainman with guest musicians, the result sounds damn organic, homogeneous and completely free of wear and tear. All songs on "Life And Death" were composed and recorded by Sven Biwo single-handedly. The mix and mastering were also done by master Biwo at Cubi Studios Bochum. The pleasantly idiosyncratic artwork is deliberately not an obligatory Photoshop bombardment - it comes from the brushes of Gudrun Müller.


[ Artwork: Gudrun Müller ]



The idea for the band was born in January 2020 when Sven (guitar and vocals) and Justus (bass) met at a benefit concert. With Hanno (drums), whom Justus knew from his school days, a man for the kettles was then also found.

Shortly before the first rehearsal the pandemic came and with it the break for the formation. However, Sven took advantage of the creative break and began to transform the ideas into songs and to realize a finished album. The final touches were put on "Life And Death" in the summer of 2022, when the first real rehearsals began and the tracks were given a new shine in the rehearsal room. (Markus Eck)


BIWO • Online:

Email:

TRACKS:
01. Live Now 04:20
02. Fountain Of Youth 04:04
03. Win This Fight 03:22
04. Mother Earth 08:36
05. Poor Boy 04:43
06. I 04:54
07. Alone In The Dark 04:11
08. Judgment Of The Gods 06:45

total: 40:44 min.

LINE-UP:
Sven Biwo • Vocals & Guitar
Finley • Guitar
Justus • Bass
Hanno • Drums

DISCOGRAPHY:
2022 • Life And Death • Full-length



BIWO is available for interviews via phone, Skype, Zoom & email

Top

Schwermetall, direkt aus dem Pott!


Aktion: BIWO
Basis: Castrop-Rauxel • Deutschland
Genre: Melodic Heavy Metal
Titel: Life And Death
FFO: Wizard, Rebellion,
early Majesty
Format: Album
Label: Independent
Release: 11. Nov. 2022


Bulletpoints:
• Erfrischendes Debütalbum eines echten Idealisten
• Unverkrampft, 100 % ehrlich & rundum beherzt
• Zeitlos-klassischer Heavy Metal der alten Schule


BIWO steht für absolut grundehrlichen, ansteckend griffigen, betont bodenständigen und klassisch zeitlosen MELODIC HEAVY METAL mit einem gut dosierten Schuss teutonischer Bulligkeit.



[Single "Live Now" ]


Mastermind Sven Biwo erklärt zu "Live Now":
"Es gibt genug Arschlöcher auf der Welt - Leute, die dich runterziehen wollen. Wir laden dich dazu ein, für einen Moment den ganzen Scheiß zu vergessen. Leb' jetzt - und mach das, worauf du Bock hast! Denn morgen ist es vielleicht zu spät. Verschwende nicht deine Zeit mit negativen Sachen - nimm' dir ein Bier, reiß' die Faust in die Höhe und schrei es laut heraus!"


Deutlich ist zu hören, dass hierbei ein musikalisch durch und durch beseelter Genre-Fan ambitioniert am Start ist, der seine echte Musik für ebensolche echte Fans macht - unkomplizierte Heavy Metal-Brotherhood ist da also ganz schwer angesagt!



[ Foto: Pedyfotografie Fotoschmiede ]



Die enorm abwechslungsreichen und nachhaltig eingängigen Songs atmen den einzigartigen, unverbrauchten 80s-Spirit mit köstlicher Inbrunst und in einer solchen Tiefe, dass man sich dem Charme von BIWO einfach nicht entziehen kann, wenn man sich dem frühen Schwermetall aus dieser Zeit aufrichtig verbunden fühlt.
Ja, gemeint ist die ganz spezielle Zeit, als damals die seligen und gleichfalls obskur-kauzigen GAMA Records unvergessene Platten von Spitzenkönnern wie Stormwitch, Veto und Tyran' Pace herausbrachten - und der Szene-Kult darum wächst mit jedem Jahr.

Selbstdarstellerisch profilierende und giga-virtuose Perfektions-Orgien sollen es bei BIWO demnach so gar nicht sein, vielmehr wird dem ewig attraktiven Underground gefrönt.

Und obwohl Bandkopf Sven sich doch eher als solierender Mainman mit Gastmusikern sieht, klingt das Ergebnis verdammt organisch, homogen und völlig abnutzungsfrei. Alle Songs auf "Life And Death" wurden von Sven Biwo im Alleingang komponiert und aufgenommen. Der Mix und das Mastering erfolgten ebenfalls durch Meister Biwo in den Cubi Studios Bochum. Das wohltuend eigenwillige Artwork stellt ganz bewusst kein obligatorisches Photoshop-Bombardement dar - es stammt aus den Pinseln von Gudrun Müller.


[ Artwork: Gudrun Müller ]



Die Idee zur Band entstand im Januar 2020 als sich Sven (Gitarre und Gesang) sowie Justus (Bass) bei einem Benefizkonzert kennenlernten. Mit Hanno (Drums), den Justus aus seiner Schulzeit kannte, war dann auch ein Mann für die Kessel gefunden.

Kurz vor der ersten Probe kam dann die Pandemie und damit auch schon das Break für die Formation. Sven machte sich die Schaffenspause jedoch beflissen zunutze und fing an die Ideen in Songs umzuwandeln und bis hin zu einem fertigen Album zu realisieren. Den letzten Feinschliff bekam "Life And Death" dann im Sommer 2022, als die ersten richtigen Proben anfingen und die Tracks im Proberaum zu neuem Glanz erstrahlten. (Markus Eck)


BIWO • Online:

E-Mail:

TRACKS:
01. Live Now 04:20
02. Fountain Of Youth 04:04
03. Win This Fight 03:22
04. Mother Earth 08:36
05. Poor Boy 04:43
06. I 04:54
07. Alone In The Dark 04:11
08. Judgment Of The Gods 06:45

total: 40:44 min.

LINE-UP:
Sven Biwo • Vocals & Guitar
Finley • Guitar
Justus • Bass
Hanno • Drums

DISCOGRAPHY:
2022 • Life And Death • Full-length



BIWO ist verfügbar für Interviews via Phone, Skype, Zoom & E-Mail