Top

Illustrious longing poetry


Action: BERGFRIED
Base: Lorraine & Savoyen
Genre: Romantic Medieval Metal
Title: Romantik I
FFO: Lordian Guard, Slough Feg, Hammers Of Misfortune
Format: EP
Label: Independent
Release: April 17, 2022


Bulletpoints:
• Fabulously original EP of a real top artist
• Unique noble mixture of highest catchiness
• Equally stylistically inventive as maximally atmospheric



When heavy metal experienced its worldwide flight of fancy in the mid-1980s, countless band cults emerged, not a few of which are still fervently praised around the world today. After all, many of the defiant, rebellious players at the time were emphatically obscure, mysterious, mystical, occult, conspiratorial, etc. 



Ultimately, manifold legend formation was also promoted by bands which were hermetically shielded from music media events, and about which one simply knew nothing at all, because there was initially for years simply zero to learn. As a Heavy Metal fan in these wonderfully unspoiled times after the acquisition only the release itself was in hands and sense - artwork, band photo and lyrics resulted with the music itself an often super delicious overall experience, which was not diminished by any other factors.



[ Pic: Haharobin ]


That was more than 35 years ago. Nowadays, even the darkest of Black Metallers not infrequently post pictures of breakfast, the car, sometimes even superfluous silliness and more on the 'social' networks. So a revelation like BERGFRIED comes just in time for serious and profoundly interested genre recipients!

Because here, too, there is intentionally very little to rummage through that goes beyond the actual art - because the idiosyncratic master behind it attaches little importance to self-promotional or even profile-neurotic posturing. In this sense, there are also deliberately no band photos from Bergfried.

Multi-instrumentalist and jack-of-all-trades Erech Leleth, who as a composer was clearly blessed by the gods in unanimous union, teamed up with exceptional singer Anna de Savoy for this - in BERGFRIED, he even plays up under the noble title of Erech III of Lorraine, swinging and always spot-on. 



[ Artwork: Haharobin ]


The immediately all-around convincing debut EP Romantik I contains four finely selected pieces that could not be more original, atmospheric, gripping and worth listening to - also stylistically unique, the four pronounced hits already unfold within seconds a very own, individually elegant ROMANTIC MEDIEVAL METAL charm. 



For lovers of focused medieval-aristocratic and romantic to longing song material, the first release of BERGFRIED plays perfectly into the tasteful cards. For example, who can seriously resist the irresistible magic of an all-around happy over-composition like "The Battle"? The living anyway not - and even in the realm of the dead old knights are guaranteed to swing blissfully along. (Markus Eck)


BERGFRIED • Online:

Email:

TRACKS:
01. Hungry Hearts 04:24
02. The Battle 03:53
03. War-Torn Lovers 05:00
04. Oh Lord 02:10

total: 15:29 min.

LINE-UP:
Anna de Savoy • Vocals
Erech III. von Lothringen • All instruments

DISCOGRAPHY:
2022 • Romantik I • EP



BERGFRIED is available for interviews via email

Top

Erlauchte Sehnsuchts-Poesie


Aktion: BERGFRIED
Basis: Lothringen & Savoyen
Genre: Romantic Medieval Metal
Titel: Romantik I
FFO: Lordian Guard, Slough Feg, Hammers Of Misfortune
Format: EP
Label: Independent
Release: 17. April 2022


Bulletpoints:
• Sagenhaft originelle EP eines echten Spitzenkönners
• Einzigartige Edelmixtur von höchster Eingängigkeit
• Gleichfalls stilfindig wie maximal stimmungsreich



Als der Heavy Metal Mitte der 1980er Jahre seinen weltweiten Höhenflug erlebte, entstanden unzählige Band-Kulte, von denen nicht wenige bis heute weltweit inbrünstig gepriesen werden. Schließlich gaben sich viele der aufmüpfig-rebellischen Akteure damals betont obskur, geheimnisvoll, mystisch, okkult, verschworen etc. 



Letztlich wurde mannigfaltige Legendenbildung aber auch noch durch hermetisch vom musikmedialen Geschehen abgeschirmte Bands gefördert, über die man einfach rein gar nichts wusste, weil es zunächst für Jahre einfach null zu erfahren gab. Als Schwermetall-Fan hatte man in diesen herrlich unverdorbenen Zeiten nach dem Erwerb nur die Veröffentlichung selbst in Händen und Sinn - Artwork, Bandfoto und Songtexte ergaben mit der Musik an sich ein oftmals oberköstliches Gesamterlebnis, welches von keinen weiteren Faktoren geschmälert wurde.



[ Bild: Haharobin ]


Das war vor mehr als 35 Jahren. Heutzutage sondern selbst erzfinsterste Schwarzmetaller nicht selten Bilder vom Frühstück, vom Auto, ja, bisweilen sogar von überflüssigen Albernheiten und mehr auf den ‚sozialen‘ Netzwerken ab. Da kommt ernsthaften und profund interessierten Genre-Rezipienten eine Offenbarung wie BERGFRIED doch gerade recht!

Denn auch hier gibt es absichtlich herzlich wenig zu stöbern, was über die eigentliche Kunst hinausgeht - denn der eigenwillige Meister dahinter legt wenig Wert auf selbstdarstellerisches oder gar profilneurotisches Getue. In diesem Sinne gibt es von Bergfried auch bewusst keinerlei Bandfotos.

Multiinstrumentalist und Tausendsassa Erech Leleth, der als Composer von den Göttern eindeutig in einträchtiger Union gesegnet wurde, tat sich hierfür mit Ausnahmesängerin Anna de Savoy zusammen - bei BERGFRIED spielt er unter dem Adelstitel Erech III. von Lothringen gar schwungvoll und jederzeit punktuell treffsicher auf. 



[ Artwork: Haharobin ]



Die sofort rundum überzeugende Debüt-EP Romantik I enthält vier feinst erlesene Stücke, die origineller, stimmungsvoller, packender und hörenswerter wohl nicht sein könnten - auch stilistisch einzigartig, entfalten die vier ausgesprochenen Hits bereits binnen Sekunden einen ganz eigenen, individuell-eleganten ROMANTIC MEDIEVAL METAL-Charme. 



Liebhabern von fokussiert mittelalterlich-aristokratisch und eben romantisch bis sehnsüchtig geprägtem Liedgut spielt der erste Release von BERGFRIED somit optimal in die geschmacklichen Karten. Wer kann sich beispielsweise dem unwiderstehlichen Zauber einer rundum glücklichen Überkomposition wie „The Battle“ schon ernsthaft entziehen? Lebende sowieso nicht - und selbst im Totenreich schwingen garantiert auch noch alte Rittersleut’ selig mit. (Markus Eck)


BERGFRIED • Online:

E-Mail:

TRACKS:
01. Hungry Hearts 04:24
02. The Battle 03:53
03. War-Torn Lovers 05:00
04. Oh Lord 02:10

total: 15:29 min.

LINE-UP:
Anna de Savoy • Vocals
Erech III. von Lothringen • All instruments

DISCOGRAPHY:
2022 • Romantik I • EP



BERGFRIED sind verfügbar für interviews via E-Mail