Top

Invitation to a nightmare


Action: SMORRAH
Title: Welcome To Your Nightmare
Base: Gelsenkirchen • Deutschland
Style: Death Thrash Metal
Genre: Thrash Metal, Death Metal, Groove Metal
FFO: Pantera, Sepultura, Exhorder
Type: Full-length
Format: CD + Vinyl + Cassette
Label: Sick Taste Records
Release: Feb. 23, 2024


Bulletpoints:
🔘 Strong debut album from the German powerhouse
🔘 Enormously rich, full-bodied Death Thrash package
🔘 Hard-hitting, precise and catchy material





[ Video by GelsenMetalStudios Video Productions ]


Singer Marius comments:
"If you always just take what's put in front of you, you're not really in control. 'Age Of Decay' is a little different from most of our other songs. The track is more melodic and there are socially critical points in the lyrics, for example. Still, it has the typical dark vibe that we usually give our music and fits in easily with the rest of the upcoming album. A concentrated load of thrash riffs - combined with lots of solos and a catchy chorus. A journey through the everyday evil that we ourselves create. A reflection of our society. A reflection of ourselves."


The nameplate of this damn sturdy precision Thrash machine reads 2017 - and, yes, the four Thrash'n'Death metallers from SMORRAH are definitely powerhouse guys!

Location: Gelsenkirchen. That's right, the oft-mentioned city known for its glorious soccer club Schalke 04, also home to the Teutonic Thrash Metal pioneers of Sodom. In this former mining area, the eerie legend of the nasty demon "Smorra", who sits on the chests of sleeping people at night and tries to suffocate them bitterly, has been reverently told for generations.



[ Pic: Anna-Lena Hickmann ]



Our local patriotic heroes gave their own heavy steel commando such a demonic name. Also breathtaking are the stunningly vehemently riffed, fatally powerful and groovy SMORRAH blasts of notes, skillfully crowned by many technical refinements - DEATH THRASH METAL that just pops!

With charismatic playing strength, the bright formation delivers immensely intense, gripping song loads, all of which drill into your consciousness like a workaholic miner on adrenaline!

SMORRAH have also written some similarly spooky stories on their sooty banner, which the determined and tried-and-tested foursome around front beast Marius hoist high into the half-heartedly blowing trend wind!

With their unmistakable and thoroughly uncompromising sound, paired with gloomy lyrics, the band knows how to convince every time anew! Influences from all Metal genres and beyond come together to form a Groove Thrash monster that takes no prisoners.



[ Artwork: Timon Kokott ]



With their debut album "Welcome To Your Nightmare", SMORRAH release a total of 9 variedly conceived and hellishly powerfully produced songs.

High tension is guaranteed:
"Welcome To Your Nightmare" energetically takes the listener on a gripping journey into the dark abysses of human psychology, leaving you hardly any time to catch your breath - the deliciously tight, bludgeon-from-the-bag quartet really does more than justify the legend surrounding the band's name!

Tireless headbangers, maniacal Thrashers and hungry Groove heads will all get their money's worth.

And anyone who has experienced these four likeable, down-to-earth heavyweights from Gelsenkirchen at one of their highly explosive and absolutely sweat-inducing live shows knows that there is only one direction with SMORRAH: Straight ahead!
To Loik!



SMORRAH • Online:

Email:

TRACKS:
01. Welcome To Your Nightmare 04:51
02. Dead Snake Eyes 04:45
03. Age Of Decay 05:54
04. Killing Spree 03:58
05. Hope Dies Last 03:45
06. Buried Underneath 05:40
07. Death Awaits 05:00
08. Evil Betrayal 05:19
09. When The Tide Comes In 06:25

total 45:42

LINE-UP:
Marius Wegener • Vocals
Daniel 'Pumper' Hartmann • Guitars
Christian 'Kraje' Krajewski • Bass
Raphael Swierczynski • Drums

DISCOGRAPHY:
2018 • The Evil Within • EP
2020 • Necrosouls • Single
2022 • Live At Helvete • Live Album
2024 • Welcome To Your Nightmare • Full-length



SMORRAH are available for interviews via phone, Skype, Zoom & email

Top

Einladung zum Alptraum


Aktion: SMORRAH
Titel: Welcome To Your Nightmare
Basis: Gelsenkirchen • Deutschland
Stil: Death Thrash Metal
Genre: Thrash Metal, Death Metal, Groove Metal
FFO: Pantera, Sepultura, Exhorder
Typ: Full-length
Format: CD + Vinyl + Cassette
Label: Sick Taste Records
Release: 23. Feb. 2024


Bulletpoints:
🔘 Das heftige Debütalbum der Gelsenkirchener
🔘 Enorm inhaltsreiche, pralle Death-Thrash-Packung
🔘 Beinhartes, präzises und eingängiges Material




[ Video von GelsenMetalStudios Video Productions ]


Sänger Marius sagt dazu:
"Wenn du immer nur nimmst, was dir vor die Nase gesetzt wird, hast du nicht wirklich die Kontrolle. 'Age Of Decay' ist ein wenig anders als die meisten unserer anderen Songs. Der Track ist melodischer und es gibt beispielsweise auch sozialkritische Punkte im Text. Dennoch trägt er das typische düstere Gewand, das wir normalerweise unserer Musik verpassen und fügt sich damit problemlos in den Rest des kommenden Albums ein. Eine geballte Ladung an Thrash-Riffs - vereint mit vielen Soli und einem eingängigen Refrain. Eine Reise durch das alltägliche Übel, das wir selbst erschaffen. Ein Spiegelbild unserer Gesellschaft. Ein Spiegelbild unserer selbst."


Baujahr 2017 steht auf dem Typenschild dieser verdammt stabil funktionierenden Präzisions-Thrash-Maschine - und, ja, echte Typen sind die vier Thrash'n'Death-Metaller von SMORRAH definitiv!

Standort: Gelsenkirchen. Genau, die oft genannte Stadt, bekannt für ihren ruhmreichen Fußballclub Schalke 04, ebenfalls Heimat der Teutonic-Thrash-Metal-Pioniere von Sodom. In diesem ehemaligen Bergbaugebiet erzählt man sich schon seit Generationen ehrfürchtig die unheimliche Legende des fiesen Dämons "Smorra", der sich nachts auf die Brust der Schlafenden setzt und sie bitterböse ersticken will.



[ Foto: Anna-Lena Hickmann ]



Derart dämonisch benannten unsere lokalpatriotischen Helden ihr eigenes Schwerstahl-Kommando. Atemberaubend sind auch die umwerfend vehement gerifften, fatal wuchtig-groovig gekeulten und von vielen spieltechnischen Raffinessen gekonnt gekrönten SMORRAH-Notensprengungen - DEATH THRASH METAL, dass es nur so knallt!

Die aufgeweckte Formation liefert mit charismatischer Spielstärke immens intensiv giftende Liederladungen, die sich allesamt ins Bewusstsein bohren wie ein arbeitswütiger Bergmann auf Adrenalin!

Auch einige ähnlich gruselige Geschichten haben sich SMORRAH auf ihre rußige Fahne geschrieben, welche der entschlossene und erprobte Vierer um Frontbiest Marius zusammen hoch hinauf in den halbherzig wehenden Trend-Wind hisst!

Mit ihrem unverkennbaren und durch und durch kompromisslosen Sound, gepaart mit düsteren Texten, weiß die Band jedes Mal aufs Neue zu überzeugen! Einflüsse aller Metal-Genres und darüber hinaus, bilden zusammen ein Groove-Thrash-Monster, das keine Gefangenen nimmt.



[ Artwork: Timon Kokott ]



Mit ihrem Debütalbum "Welcome To Your Nightmare" veröffentlichen SMORRAH insgesamt 9 abwechslungsreich konzipierte und höllisch druckvoll produzierte Songs.

Hochspannung ist hierbei garantiert:
"Welcome To Your Nightmare" nimmt die Hörer energisch mit auf eine (zu)packende Reise in die düsteren Abgründe menschlicher Psychologie, wobei einem kaum Zeit gelassen wird, um Luft zu holen - das köstlich stramme Knüppel-aus-dem-Sack-Quartett wird der Legende rund um den Bandnamen somit in der Tat mehr als nur gerecht!

Unermüdliche Headbanger, beinharte Thrasher und auch hungrige Groover, sie alle kommen hierbei wahrlich komplett auf ihre Kosten.

Und wer diese vier sympathisch bodenständigen Gelsenkirchener Schwerarbeiter schon einmal bei einer ihrer hochexplosiven und absolut schweißtreibenden Liveshows erlebt hat, der weiß ganz genau, dass es bei SMORRAH nur eine Richtung gibt: Geradeaus!
Auf Loik!



SMORRAH • Online:

E-Mail:

TRACKS:
01. Welcome To Your Nightmare 04:51
02. Dead Snake Eyes 04:45
03. Age Of Decay 05:54
04. Killing Spree 03:58
05. Hope Dies Last 03:45
06. Buried Underneath 05:40
07. Death Awaits 05:00
08. Evil Betrayal 05:19
09. When The Tide Comes In 06:25

total 45:42

LINE-UP:
Marius Wegener • Vocals
Daniel 'Pumper' Hartmann • Guitars
Christian 'Kraje' Krajewski • Bass
Raphael Swierczynski • Drums

DISCOGRAPHY:
2018 • The Evil Within • EP
2020 • Necrosouls • Single
2022 • Live At Helvete • Live Album
2024 • Welcome To Your Nightmare • Full-length



SMORRAH sind verfügbar für interviews via Phone, Skype, Zoom & E-Mail