Top

Reactivated passion


Action: WELKINS BOREAL
Base: Helsinki • Finland
Genre: Atmospheric Gothic Metal
Title: Ashes
Format: EP
Label: Independent
Release: September 11ᵗʰ, 2020


WELKINS BOREAL was founded in 2018 by Finnish songwriter Teemu Kautonen as a follow-up to his former band Nattvindens Gråt, which released three albums 1995-2000 and played a European tour in 1997. Teemu has also played with acts like Darkwoods My Betrothed, Furthest Shore and Wizzard.

WELKINS BOREAL's debut album 'Phantoms Of Yesteryear' was released in 2019 as Teemu’s solo effort. On the new EP "Ashes", the line-up was augmented with Aki Koponen on guitar and Toni Paananen as session drummer.


[ Artwork: Pavel Kurbanov • All4Band Design ]

"Ashes" contains three ATMOSPHERIC GOTHIC METAL songs that vary in style from the raw heaviness of 'Are You A Witch?' to the epic and progressive 'Triumph Of Steel' to the catchy melodic title track.

In fact, the EP features the first brand new songs Teemu has written since 2001, given that the debut album 'Phantoms Of Yesteryear' comprised of completely revised and re-recorded versions of old Nattvindens Gråt songs.

WELKINS BOREAL opted to record the EP in the old-fashioned style on magnetic tape with the apostle of analogue sound, producer/engineer Anssi Kippo at Finland’s legendary Astia Studio.


[ Pic: Mirkka Pihlajamaa ]

Everything on the EP is organic: no drum samples, no autotune, no amp simulators, no MIDI. Therefore, the playing and singing might not be perfect, but the producer and the band followed the philosophy of the feeling of the music outweighing robotic precision and a sense of danger being more interesting than predictable perfection.

The fundamental elements of the music are catchy rocking melodies, heavy guitar riffing, melancholic keyboards and baritone vocals. Fans of bands such as Sentenced, To/Die/For, Ghost and Charon should feel right at home with WELKINS BOREAL.


WELKINS BOREAL • Online:

E-MAIL:
info@welkinsboreal.com

TRACKS:
01. Are You A Witch? 03:58
02. Triumph Of Steel 04:59
03. Ashes 03:51

total: 12:48 min.

LINE-UP:
Teemu Kautonen • Lead & Backing Vocals, Bass, Guitar, Keyboards
Aki Koponen • Guitar, Backing Vocals

Toni Paananen • Session Drums

DISCOGRAPHY:
2019 • Phantoms Of Yesteryear (Full-length)
2020 • Ashes (EP)



WELKINS BOREAL is available for interviews via phone, Skype & e-mail

Top

Reaktivierte Leidenschaft


Aktion: WELKINS BOREAL
Basis: Helsinki • Finnland
Genre: Atmospheric Gothic Metal
Titel: Ashes
Format: EP
Label: Independent
Release: 11. September 2020


WELKINS BOREAL wurde 2018 von dem finnischen Songwriter Teemu Kautonen als Nachfolger seiner früheren Band Nattvindens Gråt gegründet, die 1995 bis 2000 drei Alben veröffentlichte und 1997 eine Europatournee spielte. Teemu hat auch mit Acts wie Darkwoods My Betrothed, Furthest Shore und Wizzard gespielt.

WELKINS BOREALs Debütalbum "Phantoms Of Yesteryear" wurde 2019 als Teemus Solo-Werk veröffentlicht. Für die neue EP "Ashes" wurde das Line-Up mit Aki Koponen an der Gitarre und Toni Paananen als Session-Drummer erweitert.


[ Artwork: Pavel Kurbanov • All4Band Design ]

"Ashes" enthält drei ATMOSPHERIC GOTHIC METAL-Songs, welche stilistisch von der rauen Härte von "Are You A Witch" über das epische und progressive "Triumph Of Steel" bis hin zum eingängig melodischen Titelstück variieren.

Tatsächlich enthält die EP die ersten, brandneuen Lieder, die Teemu seit 2001 geschrieben hat, da das Debütalbum "Phantoms Of Yesteryear" aus vollständig überarbeiteten und neu aufgenommenen Versionen alter Nattvindens Gråt-Songs besteht.

WELKINS BOREAL entschied sich dafür, die EP im altmodischen Stil auf Magnetband mit dem Apostel des analogen Klangs, dem Produzenten und Ingenieur Anssi Kippo, im legendären finnischen Astia Studio aufzunehmen.


[ Foto: Mirkka Pihlajamaa ]

Alles auf der EP ist organisch: keine Drum-Samples, kein Autotune, keine Amp-Simulatoren, keine MIDI-Files. Daher mögen das Spiel und der Gesang nicht perfekt sein, aber der Produzent und die Band folgten der Philosophie, dass die Emotionen der Musik die roboterhafte Präzision überwiegen und ein Gefühl der Gefahr interessanter ist als vorhersehbare Perfektion.

Die grundlegenden Elemente der Musik sind eingängige, rockige Melodien, schwere Gitarrenriffs, melancholische Keyboards sowie Baritongesang. Liebhaber von Bands wie Sentenced, To/Die/For, Ghost und Charon sollten sich bei WELKINS BOREAL wie zu Hause fühlen.


WELKINS BOREAL • Online:

E-MAIL:
info@welkinsboreal.com

TRACKS:
01. Are You A Witch? 03:58
02. Triumph Of Steel 04:59
03. Ashes 03:51

total: 12:48 min.

LINE-UP:
Teemu Kautonen • Lead & Backing Vocals, Bass, Guitar, Keyboards
Aki Koponen • Guitar, Backing Vocals

Toni Paananen • Session Drums

DISCOGRAPHY:
2019 • Phantoms Of Yesteryear (Full-length)
2020 • Ashes (EP)



WELKINS BOREAL ist verfügbar für Interviews via Phone, Skype & E-Mail