Top

Philosophical power trip


Band: SWEEPING DEATH
Base: Bavaria • Germany
Genre: Progressive Heavy Metal
Title: Tristesse
FFO: Tribulation, Opeth, Dissection
Format: EP
Label: Independent
Release: Sept. 09ᵗʰ, 2021



Bulletpoints:
• EP of the highly regarded heavy metallers
• Absolutely independent, band-typical style
• Exciting, deeply thought-out lyrical concept



[ Official music video "The World As Will"
Production: Michelle Huith, Jasper Hinz & Michael Mergenthaler
@ Hochschule Augsburg • Germany ]


Lead vocalist Elias Witzigmann comments:
"It is with great pleasure that we present to you the new video for 'The World As Will', the opener of our new EP 'Tristesse'. This video was made during the lockdown. Friends of ours were looking for a topic for their final thesis in interactive media and asked us if we would like to do a project together.

So each of us individually went to Augsburg University of Applied Sciences in the spring of 2021 to get filmed. It was a strange feeling not to be able to do such a project together. In the end, however, this circumstance only underlines the theme of the song: 'The World As Will' tells of the beginning of a journey, out of the dark, first level to a more enlightened, almost divine sphere. A transformation process within, which everyone can only begin and end within themselves.

We have deliberately chosen a black and white video to visualize the darkness and also uncompromisingness of the first level. So in the course of the video, depending on the part, gloomy passages also alternate with sublime nature scenes. We are damn excited how you like it and invite you to start your own journey with 'The World As Will'."



[ Official music video "Alter The Rift"
Production: Christian Podolski | Bodo TV
@ Backstage Werk • Munich ]




[ Pic: Michael Poganiatz ]



The new EP "Tristesse" represents the band's third release, and although the recording started during the Covid pandemic, shortly after their last LP "In Lucid" (2018), SWEEPING DEATH already made the decision to release a concept EP next with the thematic focus on the number 3.

In the beginning there was only the number, in the end a concept EP with Arthur Schopenhauer's "The World As Will And Idea" in thematic focus. Over the three songs, a journey of the lyrical I is to be described.
Starting from the gloomy, cold and yet close to life first level over a transformation from within to the last, almost divine level.
The number 3 as a constantly recurring concept in nature and philosophy is the anchor point of 'Tris+esse' -> word play lat. for three-being. And English/French for sadness.


[ Artwork: Eliran Kantor ]

Remarkable is once again the sovereign, sophisticated, graphically high-quality work of guitarist Markus Heilmeier, a real DIY maniac, who made the complete layout of the EP including the CD label and thus made the whole thing a real gem.



[ Documentary • Episode 1 - Artwork ]


Musically, the claim was quite clear to write songs that work in a live context. So SWEEPING DEATH reduced the complexity and focused a lot on catchy hooks and haunting melodies. Musically, the EP has dark sides inspired by bands like Mgła, Dissection and Tribulation as well as sublime parts reminiscent of classic Heavy Metal.



[ Official music video "The World As Will" ]



The artwork was designed by Eliran Kantor (Testament, Satan, Helloween ...) close to the aforementioned band idea of "trinity". So you see the transformation in three stages also graphically implemented.
This time SWEEPING DEATH recorded all instruments except for the vocals on their own.
So the band had full control over sound and set-up. The mixing was done by Ola Ersfjord (Tribulation, Primordial, Morbus Chron) in Madrid, Spain. Topped off with mastering by Chris Common in El Paso, Texas, the new EP is sound-wise on an international level.



BACKFLASH:

"Between The Hammer And The Anvil"
(Judas Priest cover) • July 2021:


[ Filmed: Verena Heilmeier • Video editing: Markus Heilmeier ]



Can there be anything better for a band than launching a promising debut album? Can there be anything more convincing for lovers of original and sophisticated PROGRESSIVE HEAVY METAL than "In Lucid"?



The clear as well as the only correct answer give SWEEPING DEATH with much fervor and passion!

Spirited cultivated
While the visionary formation from the Bavarian town of Wildsteig was already able to set a bold exclamation point in the matter of 'Potent Newcomer Hopefuls' with the previous EP "Astoria", the fit all-round talents with their new album provide an almost electrifying level of tension and far-reaching fascination.


[ Pic: Michael Poganiatz ]


After all, virtuosically interpreted, uplifting influences from the world of classical music found their way into the multi-faceted compositions, which also brings with it a wealth of unspent, fresh melodies on "In Lucid".

The individually created long-player can already join with the remarkably coherent opener "Blues Funeral" in the upper ranks of the genre. All songs breathe this creative, hungry spirit for authentically transformed innovation.

The equally capable as well as optimally rehearsed musicians around exceptional singer Elias ‚Eli‘ Witzigmann shoot a gigantic firework of imaginative enthusiasm in the scene.


[ Artwork: Adrian Baxter ]


Official release of the debut album "In Lucid":
October 5th 2018.


While many artists in the genre strive to create something organic, understandable, and, above all, timeless, SWEEPING DEATH gives free rein to their fantasy and imagination and let on "In Lucid" everything sound like from one single source.


Diverse acoustic passages, relaxing until evocative, tempting to dream and revel repeatedly, serves the quintet in the midst of a well-dosed, metallic basic hardness as an excellent leveling contrast serial.

By means of jagged-sparkling Thrash interactions the Bavarians enrich the sophisticated numbers quite intuitively, if individual sections of mood sheets require it - and this is guarantee for a variety of agile, dynamic and surprising moments.


[ Pic: Michael Poganiatz ]


Drummer Tobias Kasper convinces with the right instinct for dynamics and supports the multi-layered compositions with the necessary pressure. His influences, which is also especially inspired by the grand masters of noble classical music, and an above-average talent, brought Kasper a profound understanding of music over the years.



Thus, the tact-secure allrounder participated as actively as productive in the songwriting for "In Lucid". As an impressive keyboard virtuoso, he refines the compositions with elegant piano passages, which can give the whole thing a touch of eternity again and again.

Bassist Andreas Bertl emphasizes the arrangement with a clever mix of fast runs and accentuated melodies. Even the high-class guitar work together with finely thought-out harmony solos from the pen of guitar duo Markus Heilmeier and Simon Bertl should make it easy for the creators to make the breakthrough with "In Lucid" on the whole line.


Thus, this work as a whole is reminiscent of the glories of eternal icons such as Fates Warning and Psychotic Waltz, in order to wander into the past. At the same time, however, SWEEPING DEATH also brings many associations to Opeth's intoxicating magic moments in order to be able to see into their own future. (Markus Eck)


[ Pic: Sweeping Death ]


Hellish horror, vividly staged

SWEEPING DEATH present the new music video for the song 'Horror Infernal' to the Metal world on September 14th. This song will be featured on the debut album "In Lucid".

This time, the Bavarian shooting stars have focused fully on the two factors atmosphere and mood to bring the fans to the highest possible voltage with a very special music video.

Christian Podolski from Bodo-TV is responsible for the production and editing of the new video clip.








SWEEPING DEATH • Online:

E-Mail:

TRACKS:
01. The World As Will 07:28
02. Alter The Rift 05:02
03. Sublime Me 07:29

total: 19:53 min.

LINE-UP:
Elias Witzigmann • Lead Vocals
Simon Bertl • Guitar/Backing Vocals
Markus Heilmeier • Guitar
Andreas Bertl • Bass
Tobias Kasper • Drums/Piano

DISCOGRAPHY:
2017 • Astoria • EP
2018 • In Lucid • Full-length
2021 • Tristesse • EP



SWEEPING DEATH is available for interviews via phone, Zoom, Skype, Teamviewer & email

Top

Philosophischer Powertrip


Band: SWEEPING DEATH
Basis: Bayern • Deutschland
Genre: Progressive Heavy Metal
Titel: Tristesse
FFO: Tribulation, Opeth, Dissection
Format: EP
Label: Independent
Release: 09. Sept. 2021



Bulletpoints:
• EP der viel beachteten Schwermetaller
• Absolut eigenständiger, Band-typischer Stil
• Spannendes, tief durchdachtes lyrisches Konzept



[ Offizielles Musikvideo "The World As Will"
Produktion: Michelle Huith, Jasper Hinz & Michael Mergenthaler
@ Hochschule Augsburg ]


Lead-Vokalist Elias Witzigmann kommentiert:
"Mit großer Freude präsentieren wir euch das neue Video zu 'The World As Will', dem Opener unserer neuen EP 'Tristesse'. Dieses Video ist während des Lockdowns entstanden. Freunde von uns waren auf der Suche nach einem Thema für ihre Abschlussarbeit im Bereich Interaktive Medien und fragten uns ob wir Lust auf ein gemeinsames Projekt hätten.

So ist jeder von uns einzeln im Frühjahr 2021 in die Hochschule Augsburg gefahren um sich dort filmen zu lassen. Es war ein komisches Gefühl, so ein Projekt nicht gemeinsam bestreiten zu können. Am Ende unterstreicht dieser Umstand aber nur die Thematik des Songs: 'The World As Will' erzählt vom Beginn einer Reise, hinaus aus der düsteren, ersten Ebene zu einer erleuchteteren, fast göttlichen Sphäre. Ein Transformations-Prozess im Innern, welchen jeder nur selbst in sich beginnen und beenden kann.

Wir haben uns bewusst für ein Schwarz/weiß-Video entschieden, um die Dunkelheit und auch Kompromisslosigkeit der ersten Ebene zu visualisieren. So wechseln sich im Laufe des Videos je nach Part auch düstere Passagen mit erhabenen Naturszenen ab. Wir sind verdammt gespannt wie es euch gefällt und laden euch mit 'The World As Will' zum Beginn eurer eigenen Reise ein."



[ Offizielles Musikvideo "Alter The Rift"
Produktion: Christian Podolski | Bodo TV
@ Backstage Werk • München ]




[ Foto: Michael Poganiatz ]



Die neue EP "Tristesse" stellt den dritten Release der Band dar, und obwohl das Recording während der Covid-Pandemie begonnen hat, haben SWEEPING DEATH bereits kurz nach ihrer letzten LP "In Lucid" (2018) den Entschluss gefasst, als nächstes eine Konzept-EP mit dem thematischen Fokus auf die Zahl 3 zu veröffentlichen.

Am Anfang stand nur die Zahl, am Ende eine Konzept-EP bei der vor allem Arthur Schopenhauers "Die Welt als Wille und Idee" im thematischen Fokus steht. Über die drei Songs hinweg, soll eine Reise des lyrischen Ichs beschrieben werden.
Angefangen von der düsteren, kalten und doch lebensnahen ersten Stufe über eine Transformation von Innen heraus bis hin zur letzten, fast göttlichen Ebene.
Die Zahl 3 als ständig wiederkehrendes Konzept in Natur und Philosophie ist der Ankerpunkt von 'Tris+esse' -> Wortspiel lat. für Drei-Sein. Und englisch/französisch für Traurigkeit.


[ Artwork: Eliran Kantor ]

Beachtlich ist dabei auch erneut die souverän-anspruchsvolle, graphisch hochwertige Eigenleistung von Gitarrist Markus Heilmeier, einem echten DIY-Maniac, welcher das komplette Layout der EP samt CD-Label anfertigte und das Ganze somit zu einem echten Schmuckstück werden ließ.



[ Dokumentation • Episode 1 - Artwork ]


Musikalisch war der Anspruch ganz klar Songs zu schreiben, die im Live-Kontext funktionieren. So haben SWEEPING DEATH die Komplexität reduziert und sich dabei sehr auf eingängige Hooks und eindringliche Melodien konzentriert. Musikalisch hat die EP dunkle Seiten, inspiriert durch Bands wie Mgła, Dissection und Tribulation als auch erhabene Parts, welche an klassischen Heavy Metal erinnern.



[ Offizielles Musikvideo "The World As Will" ]



Das Artwork hat Eliran Kantor (Testament, Satan, Helloween ...) nah an genannter Band-Idee der "Dreisamkeit" konzipiert. So sieht man die Verwandlung in drei Stufen auch grafisch umgesetzt.
Beim Recording nahmen SWEEPING DEATH diesmal in Eigenregie alle Instrumente bis auf die Vocals auf.
So hatte die Formation volle Kontrolle über Sound und Set-Up. Das Mixing hat Ola Ersfjord (Tribulation, Primordial, Morbus Chron) in Madrid, Spanien übernommen. Abgerundet durch das Mastering von Chris Common in El Paso, Texas ist die neue EP Sound-technisch auf internationalem Niveau.



BACKFLASH:

"Between The Hammer And The Anvil"
(Judas Priest Cover) • Juli 2021:


[ Film: Verena Heilmeier • Video Editing: Markus Heilmeier ]



Kann es für eine Band etwas Schöneres geben, als ein verheißungsvolles Debütalbum an den Start zu bringen? Kann es für Liebhaber von originellem und ausgefeiltem PROGRESSIVE HEAVY METAL etwas Überzeugenderes geben, als "In Lucid"?


Die ebenso eindeutige wie einzig richtige Antwort darauf geben SWEEPING DEATH mit viel Inbrunst und Leidenschaft!

Temperamentvoll kultiviert
Konnte die visionäre Formation aus dem bayerischen Wildsteig bereits mit der vorangegangen EP "Astoria" ein dickes Ausrufezeichen in Sachen ‚Potente Newcomer-Hoffnung‘ setzen, so sorgen die fitten Allround-Talente mit ihrem neuen Album für geradezu elektrifizierende Spannungshöhe und weit greifende Faszination.


[ Foto: Michael Poganiatz ]



Schließlich fanden virtuos interpretierte, erhebend umgesetzte Einflüsse aus der Welt der Klassik den Weg in die facettenreichen Kompositionen, was auf "In Lucid" auch jede Menge an unverbrauchten, frischen Melodien mit sich bringt.

Überhaupt kann sich der individuell angelegte Langspieler bereits mit dem bemerkenswert schlüssigen Opener „Blues Funeral“ in die gehobenere Riege des Genres einreihen. Und diesen kreativen, hungrigen Geist nach authentisch transformierter Innovation atmen sämtliche Lieder.



[ Artwork: Adrian Baxter ]


Offizielle Veröffentlichung des Debütalbums "In Lucid":
5. Oktober 2018.

Die gleichfalls fähigen wie optimal aufeinander eingespielten Musiker um Ausnahmesänger Elias ‚Eli‘ Witzigmann schießen ein gigantisches Feuerwerk an einfallsreicher Spielfreude in die Szene. Während sich viele Künstler im Genre defizitär bis vergeblich damit abmühen, Organisches, Nachvollziehbares und vor allem auch Zeitloses zu erschaffen, gewähren SWEEPING DEATH ihrer Fantasie und Vorstellungskraft freien Lauf und lassen auf "In Lucid" alles wie aus einem Guss klingen.


Diverse, entspannende bis entrückende Akustik-Passagen verleiten immer wieder zum Träumen und Schwelgen, was dem Quintett inmitten einer wohldosierten metallischen Grundhärte als exzellent einpendelnde Kontrastserie dient. Mittels zackig-spritziger Thrash-Interaktionen reichern die Bayern die ausgereiften Nummern ganz intuitiv an, wenn es Teilbereiche von Stimmungsbögen erfordern - und das ist Garant für eine Vielzahl an agilen, dynamischen und überraschungsreichen Momenten.



[ Foto: Michael Poganiatz ]


Drummer Tobias Kasper überzeugt mit dem richtigen Gespür für Dynamik und stützt die vielschichtigen Kompositionen mit dem nötigen Druck. Seine vor allem auch von den Großmeistern der adligen Klassik inspirierte Prägung und eine überdurchschnittlich angewachsene Begabung brachten Kasper über die Jahre profundes Musikverständnis ein. So beteiligte sich der taktsichere Allrounder für "In Lucid" ebenso aktiv wie produktiv am Songwriting. Als beeindruckender Tastenvirtuose veredelt er die Songs mit feinen Klavier-Zwischenpassagen, die dem Ganzen immer wieder einen Hauch von Ewigkeit verleihen können.

Bassist Andreas Bertl unterstreicht das Arrangement mit einer geschickten Mischung aus schnellen Läufen und akzentuierten Melodien. Auch durch die niveauvolle Gitarrenarbeit samt fein durchdachten Harmonie-Soli aus der Feder von Gitarrenduo Markus Heilmeier und Simon Bertl sollte es den Urhebern eigentlich ein Leichtes sein, den Durchbruch mit "In Lucid" auf ganzer Linie zu schaffen.


So erinnert dieses Schaffenswerk insgesamt an einstige Glanztaten von ewigen Ikonen wie Fates Warning und Psychotic Waltz, um in die Vergangenheit zu schweifen. Gleichzeitig erwecken SWEEPING DEATH aber auch nicht wenige Assoziationen an die berauschenden Sternstunden von Opeth, um damit in die eigene Zukunft sehen zu können. (Markus Eck)


[ Pic: Sweeping Death ]


Höllischer Horror, lebhaft in Szene gesetzt

SWEEPING DEATH präsentieren der Metal-Welt am 14. September das neue Musikvideo zum Song 'Horror Infernal', welcher auf dem Debütalbum "In Lucid" vertreten ist.


Diesmal haben sich die Bayrischen Senkrechtstarter voll auf die beiden Faktoren Atmosphäre und Stimmung konzentriert, um die Fans mit einem ganz besonderen Musikvideo auf größtmögliche Hochspannung zu bringen. 


Für die Produktion und das Editing des neuen Videoclips zu 'Horror Infernal' zeichnet Christian Podolski von Bodo-TV verantwortlich.








SWEEPING DEATH • Online:

E-Mail:

TRACKS:
01. The World As Will 07:28
02. Alter The Rift 05:02
03. Sublime Me 07:29

total: 19:53 min.

LINE-UP:
Elias Witzigmann • Lead Vocals
Simon Bertl • Guitar/Backing Vocals
Markus Heilmeier • Guitar
Andreas Bertl • Bass
Tobias Kasper • Drums/Piano

DISCOGRAPHY:
2017 • Astoria • EP
2018 • In Lucid • Full-length
2021 • Tristesse • EP



SWEEPING DEATH sind verfügbar für interviews via Phone, Zoom, Skype, Teamviewer & E-Mail