Crash course in self-control

Base: North Rhine-Westphalia • Germany
Genre: Progressive Groove Metal
Title: Psychosis
Format: Album
Label: TaktArt
Release: February 23. 2019

Experimental. Variable. Unconventional: Some attributes which perfectly describe the sound of SOBER TRUTH. The sound of this band is quite unique, a break of most musical conventions.

From the start in 2007, narrow-minded folks and rigid ears have been struggling with the edgy sound of the PROGRESSIVE GROOVE METAL formation.

On the new album buster "Psychosis" singer and guitarist Torsten Schramm, lead guitarist Aaron Vogelsberg, bass-witch Jules RoCkwell and drummer Sam Baw go so massive in the full as never before. 

The quartet's most mature work to date presents a truly eruptive burst of modern Metal music that takes its listeners into another world.

The combination of melancholic rich sounds, energetically resounding guitar riffs, driving drums and punchy bass-lines can excite fans of Progressive Rock / Metal, Groove Metal and Thrash Metal alike.

The hard and groovy guitar riffs on "Psychosis" are a powerful base to bring out the driving choruses and the very versatile vocals along with rough shouts.

Blastbeats, tappings, clean parts, the 2019 palette is quite wide. But the accurately targeted diversity in the tracks also includes rousing played, very variably accented drums. 

[ Pic: Jonas Steingraeber • Freylin Fotografie ]

Lyrically, SOBER TRUTH have gone to so much trouble for "Psychosis" to compete with a contemporary concept. (Markus Eck)

The band commented about: "What do we see in the human being facing us, does he show us his truth or a mask? The inner grief changes him, imperceptibly, cruelly, tearing him and scarring his psyche. Everyone knows the feeling of powerlessness, at first timid, then with force flooding our consciousness, unstoppable and mercilessly.The wave ebbs, leaving behind a trembling, naked body, the worst is yet to come: fear ..."

More: "With titles like 'Akardos' (Heartless), 'Solitude' and especially the title track 'Psychosis', we enter a personal universe of grief, loneliness, doubt that many people know. With 'Psychosis' awakens maybe a truth that we repressed ... but also hope, power and confidence. SOBER TRUTH takes us on a mental rollercoaster ride that lets the last track roll out congenially. We're changing every day, all our lives. The new album picks up where we start to repress. 'Psychosis' looks at our scarred psyche and tells our story."

[ Pic: Jonas Steingraeber • Freylin Fotografie ]

Short bio:
Founded in 2007 in Bonn, Germany as a band of rebels, the members were intent on following their own vision: constant change. Not only do they overcome all musical stereotypes, singer and guitar player Torsten Schramm, bass witch Jules Rockwell, lead-guitar player Marvin Creek and drummer Samir Al Baw break down all musical walls inside your head as well.

Their success is obvious: since their formation the band has followed its vision without any hesitation and has played more than 250 shows so far, sharing the stage with well known bands like Crematory, The Sorrow, Sodom, Copia, Die Apokalyptischen Reiter, Sister Sin, Contradiction, Cripper, Rabenschrey, Monstagon and Eisbrecher while gathering many new and faithful fans during their gigs.

Furthermore, SOBER TRUTH graced many popular festivals like Rheinkultur, Metal Franconia, Metal For Mercy, Til ́Someone Cries und Ragnarock Open Air with their powerful live-performances. Local radio stations, for example WDR–Radio Bonn-Rhein-Sieg as well as other online radio stations feature them quite often as guests.


01. Solitude (04:03)
02. Akardos (04:12)
03. Dark Valley (04:14)
04. Ode To Reality (01:06)
05. Riven (05:11)
06. Horizon (04:48)
07. Utopia (04:05)
08. Sober (ReArranged) (03.22)
09. Dying Dreams (01:22)
10. Psychosis (06:24)
11. Collapse Unplugged (04:27)

total: 42:58 min.

Torsten Schramm • Vocals & Guitar
Aaron Vogelsberg • Guitar
Jules RoCkwell • Bass
Sam Baw • Drums

2008 Riven (Full-length)
2009 Outta Hell (Full-length)
2011 Outta Hell (Full-length • Special Edition)
2014 New Slavery World (EP)
2017 Locust ▽ Lunatic Asylum (Full-length)
2019 Psychosis (Full-length)

SOBER TRUTH • Contact: