Top

Straight from within


Action: HANGATYR
Base: Germany
Genre: Black Metal
Title: kalt
Format: Album
Label: Self-financed
Release: March 2, 2020


When the fellows launched HANGATYR in spring 2006, the stylistic direction of the idealists from Saxony and Central Thuringia was immediately clear:
cold, Nordic guitar riffs, paired with typical Thuringian melodies and German lyrics, inspired by the mythology that lives deep inside the creators, should shape the music.


The inspiring band name pays tribute to Odin, the father of the gods - 'Hangatyr' is its epithet in the rune's song. He sacrificed himself and hung on the world ash Yggdrasil for nine days to learn the runes. HANGATYR see the meaning behind this in that you have to give something to gain knowledge and wisdom.


[ Pic: Ute Ruhmann ]

By autumn 2007, the musicians had been working on the songs for the very first self-titled demo CD, which was produced with complete self-energy. A start was made, a brand was set.


Before the recordings for the debut album "Helwege" could begin, the drum stool had to be occupied in the truest sense of the word. With Michael, a dedicated drummer could be found quickly, who was ready to record in the studio after a short period of familiarization. At the end of February 2010 the time had come: the outstanding "Helwege" could be released.


In the following time, various guest performances were celebrated on suitable stages and further ideas for new songs were collected. HANGATYR set out well prepared in April 2012 to record the album successor "Elements". In February 2013, the last fragments were put together. Alexander Dietz, known from Heaven Shall Burn, mastered the material in his Chemical Burn Studios. In early 2014 the disc was thrown into the scene.

HANGATYR, motivated even more by increasing encouragement and recognition in the genre, continued to pursue their very own vision of violently-biting but firm Black Metal with a clear focus. 


The common path separated in 2017 when founding member Tele and long-time companion Marco left the group. In the same year Basti offered to get on the guitar, which turned out to be a real stroke of luck. His dedication and the experience he brought with him gave HANGATYR a different soundscape. 



[ Cover art: Ute Ruhmann ]

In October 2019, the route once again led to Chemical Burn Studios in Bad Kösen. Together with Alexander Dietz, the new compositions were refined, which can now be heard on "kalt":
relentlessly hard-hitting, uncompromising BLACK METAL anthems, from which the eternal spirit of the old and the true proudly emerges.

For example, it is lasting impressive and close to nature to experience how fatal the fervent outbreak "Cold Ground" penetrates under the skin. Because also in terms of lyrics, those involved in the publication stand together for timeless depth - in this sense, a captivating concept was developed for "kalt". In principle, the album is all about the oppressive cold that arises when you have to suffer painful loss.

Official Preview for "kalt":

With "kalt", HANGATYR offer substantial Black Metal. Songs of pure power, inspired by darkness and spirituality, which rise so imposingly that often a real feeling of triumph arises, which in the end wants to despair of icy loneliness. (Markus Eck)


HANGATYR • Online:

ali.knorr@web.de

TRACKS:
01. Niedergang 06:20
02. Entferntes Ich 06:35
03. Firnheim 07:22
04. Blick aus Eis 04:24
05. Kalter Grund 06:19
06. ...kalt 02:05
07. Mittwinter 07:52
08. Verweht 07:05

total: 48:13 min.

LINE-UP:
Silvio • Vocals
Ali • Guitar
Basti • Guitar
Micha • Drums

DISCOGRAPHY:
2010 • Helwege (Full-length)
2014 • Elemente (Full-length)
2020 • kalt (Full-length)



HANGATYR are available for interviews via phone, Skype & e-mail

Top

Direkt aus dem Innersten


Aktion: HANGATYR
Basis: Deutschland
Genre: Black Metal
Titel: kalt
Format: Album
Label: Eigenvertrieb
Release: 2. März 2020


Als die Kerle im Frühjahr 2006 HANGATYR ins Leben riefen, war die stilistische Marschrichtung der aus Sachsen und Mittelthüringen stammenden Idealisten sofort eindeutig klar:
Kalte, nordische Gitarrenriffs, gepaart mit typischen thüringischen Melodien und deutsche Texte, inspiriert von der Mythologie, die den Urhebern tief inne wohnt, sollten die Musik prägen.



Der inspirierende Bandname zollt Göttervater Odin einen Tribut - 'Hangatyr' ist dessen Beiname im Runenlied. Er opferte sich selbst und hing neun Tage an der Weltenesche Yggdrasil, um die Runen zu lernen. Den Sinn dahinter sehen HANGATYR dahingehend, dass man etwas geben muss, um Wissen und Weisheit zu erlangen.


[ Foto: Ute Ruhmann ]

Bis zum Herbst 2007 arbeiteten die Musiker an den Songs für die allererste, selbstbetitelte Demo-CD, welche in kompletter Eigenenergie produziert wurde. Ein Anfang war getan, eine Marke wurde gesetzt.


Bevor die Aufnahmen zum Debütalbum "Helwege" beginnen konnten, musste zunächst noch der Schlagzeug-Schemel im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes neu besetzt werden. Mit Michael konnte zügig ein engagierter Drummer gefunden werden, der schon nach kurzer Eingewöhnungszeit bereit für die Aufnahmen im Studio war. Ende Februar 2010 war es dann soweit: Das überragende "Helwege" konnte veröffentlicht werden.


In der nachfolgenden Zeit wurden verschiedenste Gastspiele auf passenden Bühnen zelebriert und weitere Ideen für neue Lieder gesammelt. Gut vorbereitet brachen HANGATYR im April 2012 auf, um den Albumnachfolger "Elemente" einzuspielen. Im Februar 2013 wurden hierfür die letzten Fragmente zusammengefügt. Das Mastering des Materials übernahm Alexander Dietz, bekannt von Heaven Shall Burn, in seinen Chemical Burn Studios. Anfang 2014 wurde der Dreher in die Szene geschleudert.

HANGATYR, durch steigenden Zuspruch und Anerkennung im Metier noch höher motiviert, verfolgten ihre ureigene Vision von heftig-bissigem aber dennoch griffigem Black Metal mit klarem Fokus weiter. 



2017 trennte sich der gemeinsame Weg, als Gründungsmitglied Tele sowie der langjährige Weggefährte Marco die Gruppe verließen. Im gleichen Jahr bot Basti an, an der Gitarre einzusteigen, was sich als wahrer Glücksgriff erwies. Seine Hingabe und die Erfahrung, die er mitbrachte, verpassten HANGATYR ein verändertes Soundgewand. 



[ Cover art: Ute Ruhmann ]

Im Oktober 2019 ging es schließlich erneut nach Bad Kösen in die Chemical Burn Studios. Zusammen mit Alexander Dietz wurden die neuen Kompositionen ausgefeilt, die nun auf "kalt" zu hören sind:
Schonungslos hart packende, kompromisslose Schwarzmetall-Hymnen, denen der ewige Geist des Alten und Wahren stolz entsteigt.

Nachhaltig beeindruckend ist es beispielsweise zu erleben, wie fatal der naturnahe, inbrünstige Ausbruch "Kalter Grund" unter die Haut dringt. Denn auch textlich stehen die Beteiligten auf der Veröffentlichung in Geschlossenheit für zeitlosen Tiefgang - in diesem Sinne wurde für "kalt" ein fesselndes Konzept erarbeitet. Prinzipiell dreht sich auf dem Album alles um die beklemmende Kälte, die entsteht, wenn man schmerzlichen Verlust zu erleiden hat.

Official Preview für "kalt":

Mit "kalt" bieten HANGATYR gehaltvollen BLACK METAL. Von Dunkelheit und Spiritualität beseelte Kraftlieder, die so imposant aufsteigen, dass sich oftmals ein regelrechtes Triumphgefühl erhebt, welches am Ende an eisiger Einsamkeit verzweifeln möchte. (Markus Eck)


HANGATYR • Online:

ali.knorr@web.de

TRACKS:
01. Niedergang 06:20
02. Entferntes Ich 06:35
03. Firnheim 07:22
04. Blick aus Eis 04:24
05. Kalter Grund 06:19
06. ...kalt 02:05
07. Mittwinter 07:52
08. Verweht 07:05

total: 48:13 min.

LINE-UP:
Silvio • Vocals
Ali • Guitar
Basti • Guitar
Micha • Drums

DISCOGRAPHY:
2010 • Helwege (Full-length)
2014 • Elemente (Full-length)
2020 • kalt (Full-length)



HANGATYR sind verfügbar für interviews via Phone, Skype & E-Mail