Top

Mythical sweeping enchantments


Action: HAND OF KALLIACH
Base: Edinburgh • Scotland
Genre: Atmospheric Celtic Metal
Title: Samhainn
FFO: Primordial, Oceans Of Slumber,
Ihsahn
Format: Album
Label: Trepanation Recordings
Release: Oct. 22, 2021



Bulletpoints:
• 1ˢᵗ full-length release of the innovative & original Scotsmen
• Exciting emotional compositions, eclectic embedded in an stirring style
• Etherial, hypnotic soundscapes of uplifting epic kind


Husband and wife ATMOSPHERIC CELTIC METAL duo HAND OF KALLIACH meld a passion for Metal music with traditional Scottish folk elements. Instead of using traditional instruments they draw inspiration from the rhythms, time signatures and patterns used in folk music and adapt them for distorted guitars:

"We’re both extremely excited to be releasing our debut full-length, 'Samhainn'. Named after the ancient Celtic festival of winter (pronounced ‘Sah-win’), this album represents a huge gear change in our writing and production from our initial work, bringing a darker and more aggressive energy to our hybrid sound of Melodeath and Folk Metal."



[ Artwork: VHummel ]



The name HAND OF KALLIACH, comes from the legend of the 'Cailleach', a Scottish witch god of winter - and in mythology one tale holds that she sleeps at the bottom of an enormous whirlpool in Corryvreckan, off the western isles of Scotland where John's family is from, arising to usher in winter.

HAND OF KALLIACH's music focuses on dual concepts of benevolence and malevolence, all against the backdrop of the history, mythology and land/seascapes of the Scottish islands.

The duo delivers a powerful sound from the contrast of Sophie’s ethereal vocals to John’s harsh gutturals, and the dynamic surrounding instrumentation. Intense distorted guitar and bass tones ground the music while haunting melodies and motifs break through the wall of sound.



[ Pic: David Fraser ]



"Samhainn" is an epic release creatively reimagining the folk style with a powerhouse of Melodic Metal. From the haunting opening of "Beneath Starlit Waters", to the darkly serene soundscape of "The Lull Of Loch Uigeadail", before concluding with the dramatic intensity of "Return To Stone", "Samhainn" is a voyage of discovery not to be missed.



BACKFLASH:
Hailing from Edinburgh, Scotland, Husband-and-wife two piece HAND OF KALLIACH arose in December 2020 with the launch of their fascinating debut EP, "Shade Beyond".

As their touching eclectic ATMOSPHERIC CELTIC METAL sound is defined by distilled Scottish, Gaelic and Celtic overtones, blended with a poisonous Melodeath Metal foundation, it was picked up very quickly by stations and playlists as 'January's Band Of The Month' on the Midnight Hour show on Metal Meyhem Radio.

The tracks of "Shade Beyond" range in atmosphere from the charged energy of "In Tempest Wrought" and "White Horizon", to the raw aggression of "Fathoms" and the darker intonations of "Fàilte", and to the more classic Metal punch of "Overwhelm".



[ Pic: Hand Of Kalliach ]



The overwhelming mixture of the multi-talented pair is truly as unique as it is hypnotic - just dare to imagine a deeply lovely voice like Sarah Brightman's, as in "White Horizon," where the vocals then soar into gripping epic visions of world escape!



HAND OF KALLIACH • Online:

Email:

TRACKS:
01. Beneath Starlit Waters 05:56
02. Solas Neònach 04:53
03. Each Uisge 05:01
04. Roil 03:28
05. Cinders 03:02 06. The Lull Of Loch Uigeadail 03:49
07. Ascendant 03:13
08. Òran Na Tein'-éigin 04:10
09. Trial Of The Beithir-Nimh 03:49
10. Return to Stone 05:21

total: 42:42

LINE-UP:
Sophie Fraser • Vocals, Bass
John Fraser • Vocals, Guitars, Drums

DISCOGRAPHY:
2020 • Shade Beyond • EP
2021 • Cinders • Single
2021 • Samhainn • Full-length



HAND OF KALLIACH is available for interviews via phone, Skype, Zoom & email

Top

Mythisch mitreißende Verzauberungen


Aktion: HAND OF KALLIACH
Basis: Edinburgh • Schottland
Genre: Atmospheric Celtic Metal
Titel: Samhainn
FFO: Primordial, Oceans Of Slumber,
Ihsahn
Format: Album
Label: Trepanation Recordings
Release: 22. Okt. 2021



Bulletpoints:
• 1. Album-Veröffentlichung der innovativen & originellen Schotten
• Spannend-emotionale Kompositionen, eklektisch eingebettet in einen mitreißenden Stil
• Ätherische, hypnotische Klanglandschaften von erhebend epischer Art


Das ATMOSPHERIC CELTIC METAL-Ehepaar HAND OF KALLIACH verbindet seine Leidenschaft für Metal-Kunst mit traditionellen schottischen Folk-Elementen. Anstatt traditionelle Instrumente zu verwenden, lassen sie sich von den in der Folkmusik verwendeten Rhythmen, Taktarten und Mustern inspirieren und adaptieren sie für verzerrte Gitarren:

"Wir sind beide sehr aufgeregt, unser Debütalbum 'Samhainn' zu veröffentlichen. Benannt nach dem alten keltischen Fest des Winters (ausgesprochen 'Sah-win'), stellt dieses Album eine große Veränderung in unserem Songwriting und unserer Produktion im Vergleich zu unserem ersten Werk dar und bringt eine dunklere und aggressivere Energie in unseren hybriden Sound aus Melodeath und Folk Metal."



[ Artwork: VHummel ]



Der Name HAND OF KALLIACH entstammt der Legende der 'Cailleach', einer schottischen Hexengöttin des Winters - und in der Mythologie heißt es, dass sie auf dem Grund eines riesigen Strudels in Corryvreckan, vor den westlichen Inseln Schottlands, wo Johns Familie herkommt, schläft und den Winter einläutet.

Die Musik von HAND OF KALLIACHs konzentriert sich auf die beiden Konzepte von Wohlwollen und Böswilligkeit, alles vor dem Hintergrund der Geschichte, Mythologie und Landschaften der schottischen Inseln.

Der Kontrast zwischen Sophies ätherischem Gesang und Johns hartem Kehlkopfgesang sowie die dynamische Instrumentierung verleihen dem Duo einen kraftvollen Sound. Intensiv verzerrte Gitarren- und Basstöne erden die Musik, während eindringliche Melodien und Motive die Klangwand durchbrechen.



[ Foto: David Fraser ]



"Samhainn" ist eine epische Veröffentlichung, die den Folk-Stil mit einem Kraftwerk des Melodic Metal kreativ neu interpretiert. Vom eindringlichen Auftakt "Beneath Starlit Waters" über die düster-ruhige Klanglandschaft von "The Lull Of Loch Uigeadail" bis hin zur dramatischen Intensität von "Return To Stone" ist "Samhainn" eine Entdeckungsreise, die man nicht verpassen sollte.



BACKFLASH:
Das aus Edinburgh, Schottland, stammende Ehepaar HAND OF KALLIACH brachte im Dezember 2020 seine faszinierende Debüt-EP "Shade Beyond" auf den Markt.

Da ihr berührender, eklektischer ATMOSPHERIC CELTIC METAL-Sound durch destillierte schottische, gälische und keltische Obertöne definiert ist, die mit einem giftigen Melodeath Metal-Fundament vermischt sind, wurde er sehr schnell von Sendern und Playlists aufgegriffen, wie beispielsweise als "January's Band Of The Month" in der Midnight Hour Show auf Metal Meyhem Radio.

Die Tracks von "Shade Beyond" reichen in ihrer Atmosphäre von der geladenen Energie von "In Tempest Wrought" und "White Horizon" über die rohe Aggression von "Fathoms" und die dunkleren Intonationen von "Fàilte" bis hin zu dem eher klassischen Metal-Punch von "Overwhelm".



[ Foto: Hand Of Kalliach ]



Die überwältigende Mischung des multitalentierten Paares ist wahrhaftig so einzigartig wie hypnotisierend - man wage es nur, sich eine zutiefst liebliche Stimme wie die von Sarah Brightman vorzustellen, wie in "White Horizon", worin die Vokalisierungen dann in packende, epische Visionen der Weltflucht aufsteigen!


HAND OF KALLIACH • Online:

Email:

TRACKS:
01. Beneath Starlit Waters 05:56
02. Solas Neònach 04:53
03. Each Uisge 05:01
04. Roil 03:28
05. Cinders 03:02 06. The Lull Of Loch Uigeadail 03:49
07. Ascendant 03:13
08. Òran Na Tein'-éigin 04:10
09. Trial Of The Beithir-Nimh 03:49
10. Return to Stone 05:21

total: 42:42

LINE-UP:
Sophie Fraser • Vocals, Bass
John Fraser • Vocals, Guitars, Drums

DISCOGRAPHY:
2020 • Shade Beyond • EP
2021 • Cinders • Single
2021 • Samhainn • Full-length



HAND OF KALLIACH sind verfügbar für interviews via Phone, Skype, Zoom & E-mail