Top

Full-blooded project


Band: DRUNKEN FOOLS
Base: Schleswig-Holstein • Germany
Genre: Atmospheric Rock
Title: Escape
Format: Album
Label: Independent
Release: December 1st, 2018


A completely 'normal' and completely human band - does that still exist? Especially in times when an elaborate image and cleverly conceived marketing etc. seem to dominate everything else.

Schleswig-Holstein based DRUNKEN FOOLS give a very personal and unique answer to this important question with the 2018 album "Escape", which is available on all streaming and download portals.

In 2020, the musicians from Hamweddel want to set a world record that is not quite commonplace. Specifically, this involves the amount of artificial blood per minute used in a music video. (!)
In the course of the promotion for a concept album which is expected to be released in early 2021, the combo wants to produce an elaborate music video for the new song "Blutnacht".


[ Pic: Meike Matzen ]

DRUNKEN FOOLS, consisting of Sönke Martens (guitar and vocals), Maleen Stangier (vocals), Jasmin Grünau (keyboards), Viola Dolenc (violin), Frank Hauschildt (bass), Marcus Junge (drums) and Sebastian Reimers (technical equipment), implement the idea of video producer and director Fritjof Heyn from Marne. The horror film fan created the concept and refers to the B-movie classic "Braindead" by Peter Jackson: "I calculated how much blood per minute was used in 'Braindead'. We have to beat this figure to shoot the bloodiest music video of all time", genre-enthusiast Heyn says about the unusual project.



[ Artwork: Jasmin Grünau ]

The lyrics of "Blutnacht" describe the night before a medieval battle. The fighters celebrate properly and drink themselves courageously for the coming day.
"The whole concept of our new album is based on the books of Bernard Cornwell, which were already filmed in the TV series 'The Last Kingdom'", tells singer and guitarist Sönke Martens, who wrote the lyrics for the music. The story is set in England around the year 1.000 AD.



[ Pic: Meike Matzen ]

The video shoot itself requires a lot of effort - especially for an amateur band. Among others, the group secured the cooperation with Carsten Delle from Haale, who has already been an extra in various TV productions and can provide a huge stock of medieval props.

DRUNKEN FOOLS record the whole upcoming album in the Holstein recording studio in Seefeld. In close cooperation with its owner, music producer Allan Murdoch (Ex-Highlander, Ex-Message), the basic framework for the new tracks is currently being created. It is planned to release "Blutnacht" initially as video and single in advance.
"The cooperation with Allan takes our music to a whole new level. We will sound harder and more rocking than on our last release", drummer Marcus Junge reports. 



[ Pic: Meike Matzen ]

DRUNKEN FOOLS - to want to derive from the entertaining band name immediately rashly on permanently thirsty fun birds, would be fatally mistaken.

Because as the extremely likeable ATMOSPHERIC ROCK quintet around the two voices Maleen and Sönke proves with the album title song "Escape", their songs are thoroughly infused with seriousness and depth. To this touching song, which comes along in an intersection of the sounds of Sisters Of Mercy, New Model Army, The Cult and Fields Of The Nephilim, an official music video was presented on November 20, 2018.

Together with the local photo studio Gemke and 4K-Filmproduktion, a professionally produced clip was created that perfectly reflects the band's attitude towards life:

Retrospective:
the chummy idealist combo was already started in 1996, when the four youngsters Sönke Martens (guitar and vocals), Björn Lüdemann (keyboard), Gunnar Hansen (bass), Lars Lange (violin and vocals) as well as Marcel Riecke started to compose their first own music. 



In the small and contemplative town of Burg in Dithmarschen, the first rehearsal room was then lovingly set up, small performances in pubs followed. Full of zest for action one was willing to show the big Rock world out there that one also had something to offer. Innumerable underground formations were founded at the same time, which so often disbanded just as quickly. DRUNKEN FOOLS but still exists. That alone speaks volumes, it can be said.




When the first CD "Auch in Dir" was released in 1997, DRUNKEN FOOLS set their foot in the big wide Rock genre for the first time. The average age at that time was just 15 years. 




[ Pic: Meike Matzen ]

Obligatory changes in the line-up did not at all detract from the stability of these wonderfully relaxed musicians. Drummer Marcus and singer Sönke even wrote the club anthem for the local soccer club SV Hochdonn. The song is still performed at all home games of the strong footballers, so they stick together everywhere.





However, it was to take until 2014 before things really came to life again. Marcus and Sönke teamed up with Martin Lübker, who from then on put on the bass guitar for the group. 


Together they rediscovered the good old, proven songs of DRUNKEN FOOLS. Two years later there was even a rejuvenation cure: keyboardist Jasmin Grünau and singer Maleen joined and the band decided to record another new longplayer.




[ Artwork: Drunken Fools ]

The result is the 2018 CD "Escape" - a mixture of new recordings of 20 year old songs and some new compositions, which is worth listening to all around, because it works immediately and smoothly.

The second album "Escape" was officially released on December 01, 2018.

Of course everything was reinterpreted. This stylistically in all respects unusually independent disc was recorded in the rehearsal room in Hamweddel, together with the distinctive campfire feeling that gets under your skin.

Competently mixed and suitably mastered by Kalthallen Studios in Nachrodt-Wiblingwerde, the sound of the album unfolds a lastingly charming, incredibly organic and pleasantly soulful aura, which one should simply enjoy authentically and relaxed according to the nature of the songs. 




And since Sönke's percussion guitar is omnipresent in almost all songs, many a track goes straight to your stomach and legs.

This way the circle closes harmoniously. The at the beginning mentioned, relaxed naturalness of the appearance of all band members, the heart-refreshing naivety and the insatiable passion for the music are finally another important aspect of creating the simply lovable DRUNKEN FOOLS. And this is exactly how it can, should and will continue to be. (Markus Eck)


On February 03, 2019 the band released the lyric video for the album song "Teufelsgesicht:




DRUNKEN FOOLS • Online:

E-MAIL:
info@drunken-fools.com

𝗠𝗘𝗧𝗔𝗟𝗠𝗘𝗦𝗦𝗔𝗚𝗘 ᴳᴸᴼᴮᴬᴸ · DRUNKEN FOOLS "Teufelsgesicht"

TRACKS:
01. Cold (3:51)
02. Bebanburg (4:35)
03. Candlelight (3:02)
04. Fear Myself (4:37)
05. Escape (4:42)
06. Flame In The Wind (4:08)
07. Teufelsgesicht (3:54)
08. Vision Of Time (6:29)
09. Kjartan (3:39)
10. Rebirth (3:10)
11. Himmelsstieg (3:39)
12. My Treasure (2:45)
13. Tausend Fragen (4:35)

total: 53:32 min.

LINE-UP 2020:
Maleen Stangier • Gesang
Sönke Martens • Gitarre & Gesang
Frank Hauschildt • Bass
Jasmin Grünau • Keyboard & Gitarre
Viola Dolenc • Geige
Marcus Junge • Schlagzeug
+
Sebastian Reimers • Technik und Equipment

DISCOGRAPHY:
1997 Auch in Dir (Full-length)
1998 Flame In The Wind (Demo tape)
2018 Escape (Full-length)
2021 tba (Full-length)

DRUNKEN FOOLS are available for interviews via phone, Skype & e-mail

Top

Vollblütiges Vorhaben


Band: DRUNKEN FOOLS
Basis: Schleswig-Holstein • Deutschland
Genre: Atmospheric Rock
Titel: Escape
Format: Album
Label: Eigenpressung
Release: 01. Dezember 2018


Eine ganz ‚normale‘ und sich vollauf menschlich gebende Band - gibt es das überhaupt noch? Zumal in Zeiten, wo ein aufwändig erdachtes Image und clever konzipiertes Marketing etc. alles andere gänzlich zu dominieren scheinen.

Eine ganz persönliche und ureigene Antwort auf diese nicht unwichtige Frage geben die Schleswig-Holsteiner DRUNKEN FOOLS mit dem 2018er Album "Escape", welches auf allen Streaming- und Download-Portalen verfügbar ist.

2020 möchten die Musiker aus Hamweddel nun einen nicht ganz alltäglichen Weltrekord aufstellen. Konkret geht es dabei um die Menge an Kunstblut pro Minute, die in einem Musikvideo verwendet wird. (!)
Im Zuge der Promotion für ein voraussichtlich Anfang 2021 erscheinendes Konzept-Album will die Combo ein aufwendiges Musikvideo zum neuen Song "Blutnacht" produzieren.


[ Foto: Meike Matzen ]

Die DRUNKEN FOOLS, bestehend aus Sönke Martens (Gitarre und Gesang), Maleen Stangier (Gesang), Jasmin Grünau (Keyboard), Viola Dolenc (Geige), Frank Hauschildt (Bass), Marcus Junge (Schlagzeug) und Sebastian Reimers (Technik), setzen dabei die Idee des Video-Produzenten und Regisseurs Fritjof Heyn aus Marne um. Der Horrorfilm-Fan erstellte das Konzept und verweist auf den B-Movie-Klassiker "Braindead" von Peter Jackson: "Ich habe ausgerechnet, wie viel Blut pro Minute in 'Braindead' verwendet wurde. Diesen Wert gilt es zu schlagen, um das blutigste Musikvideo aller Zeiten zu drehen", präzisiert Spartenenthusiast Heyn das ungewöhnliche Vorhaben.



[ Artwork: Jasmin Grünau ]

Der Songtext von "Blutnacht" beschreibt die Nacht vor einer mittelalterlichen Schlacht. Die Kämpfer feiern zünftig und trinken sich für den kommenden Tag ordentlich Mut an.
"Das gesamte Konzept unseres neuen Albums beruht auf den Büchern von Bernard Cornwell, welche bereits in der TV-Serie 'The Last Kingdom' verfilmt wurden", so Sänger und Gitarrist Sönke Martens, von dem die Texte für die Musik stammen. Zeitlich ist die Handlung um das Jahr 1.000 nach Christus in England angesiedelt.



[ Foto: Meike Matzen ]

Der Videodreh selbst wird mit - zumal für eine Amateurband - sehr viel Aufwand betrieben. Unter anderem sicherte sich die Gruppe die Zusammenarbeit mit Carsten Delle aus Haale, der bereits selbst als Komparse Teil verschiedener TV-Produktionen war und einen riesigen Fundus an mittelalterlichen Requisiten zur Verfügung stellen kann.

DRUNKEN FOOLS nehmen das gesamte kommende Album im Tonstudio Holstein in Seefeld auf. In enger Kooperation mit dessen Inhaber, Musikproduzent Allan Murdoch (Ex-Highlander, Ex-Message) entsteht derzeit das Grundgerüst für die neuen Tracks. Es ist geplant, "Blutnacht" zunächst als Video und Single vorab zu veröffentlichen.
"Die Zusammenarbeit mit Allan bringt unsere Musik auf ein ganz neues Level. Wir werden härter und rockiger klingen als noch auf unserer letzten Veröffentlichung", weiß Schlagzeuger Marcus Junge zu berichten. 



[ Foto: Meike Matzen ]

DRUNKEN FOOLS - vom unterhaltsamen Bandnamen sogleich vorschnell auf dauerdurstige Spaßvögel ableiten zu wollen, wäre fatal daneben gegriffen.

Denn wie das überaus sympathische ATMOSPHERIC ROCK-Quintett um die beiden Stimmen Maleen und Sönke mit dem Album-Titelsong "Escape" beweist, sind ihre Lieder durchaus von Ernsthaftigkeit und Tiefgang durchzogen. Zu diesem berührenden Lied, welches in einer Schnittmenge aus den Sounds von Sisters Of Mercy, New Model Army, The Cult und Fields Of The Nephilim daherkommt, wurde am 20. November 2018 ein offizielles Musikvideo präsentiert.

Gemeinsam mit dem hiesigen Fotostudio Gemke und 4K-Filmproduktion entstand ein professionell erstellter Clip, der das Lebensgefühl der Band perfekt wiedergibt:

Rückblick:
Gestartet wurde die kumpelhafte Idealisten-Combo bereits 1996, als sich die vier Jugendlichen Sönke Martens (Gitarre und Gesang), Björn Lüdemann (Keyboard), Gunnar Hansen (Bass), Lars Lange (Geige und Gesang) sowie Marcel Riecke daran machten, erste eigene Musik zu komponieren. 



In dem kleinen und beschaulichen Ort Burg in Dithmarschen wurde nachfolgend mit aller Liebe der erste Proberaum eingerichtet, kleine Auftritte in Kneipen folgten. Voller Tatendrang war man im Weiteren gewillt, der großen Rockwelt da draußen zu zeigen, das man auch was zu bieten hatte. Unzählige Underground-Formationen wurden damals zeitgleich ins Leben gerufen, die sich so oft genauso schnell wieder auflösten. DRUNKEN FOOLS aber gibt es immer noch. Allein das spricht ja schon Bände, darf behauptet werden.




Als 1997 bereits die erste CD "Auch in Dir" veröffentlicht wurde, setzten DRUNKEN FOOLS damit erstmalig ihren Fuß ins große weite Rockgenre. Das Durchschnittsalter betrug zu der Zeit gerade mal 15 Jahre. 




[ Foto: Meike Matzen ]


Obligatorische Besetzungswechsel taten der Beständigkeit dieser wunderbar unverkrampften Musikanten so gar keinen Abbruch. Drummer Marcus und Sänger Sönke schrieben zusammen sogar die Vereinshymne für den lokalen Fußballverein SV Hochdonn. Der Song wird bis heute bei allen Heimspielen der fußstarken Kicker vorgeführt, dort hält man also überall zusammen.




Es sollte jedoch bis 2014 dauern, bis wieder richtig Leben in die Sache kam. Marcus und Sönke taten sich mit Martin Lübker zusammen, der sich fortan die Bassklampfe für die Truppe umhängte. 



Gemeinsam wurden die guten alten, bewährten Lieder der DRUNKEN FOOLS wiederentdeckt. Zwei Jahre später gab es gar eine Verjüngungskur: Keyboardfrau Jasmin Grünau und Sängerin Maleen stießen dazu und die Band beschloss, einen weiteren, neuen Longplayer aufzunehmen.




[ Artwork: Drunken Fools ]

Es entstand die aktuelle CD "Escape" - eine rundum hörenswerte, weil auch sofort reibungslos funktionierende Mischung aus Neuaufnahmen 20 Jahre alter Songs und einigen Neukompositionen.

Offiziell veröffentlicht wurde das zweite Album "Escape" am 01. Dezember 2018.

Natürlich wurde alles neu interpretiert. Aufgenommen wurde diese stilistisch in allen Belangen ungewöhnlich eigenständige Scheibe mitsamt dem markanten, unter die Haut gehenden Lagerfeuer-Feeling im Proberaum in Hamweddel.

Kompetent gemixt und passend gemastert von den Kalthallen Studios in Nachrodt-Wiblingwerde, entfaltet das Klangbild des Albums eine nachhaltig reizvolle, ungemein organische und wohltuend beseelende Aura, die man ganz der Natur der Lieder entsprechend einfach nur authentisch und entspannt genießen sollte. 



Und da die Schlaggitarre von Sönke in fast allen Songs allgegenwärtig ist, geht so mancher Track auch sofort in Bauch und Beine.

Und so schließt sich der Kreis ganz harmonisch. Die eingangs erwähnte, entspannt ausgeprägte Natürlichkeit des Auftretens aller Bandmitglieder, die herz-erfrischende Naivität und die unstillbare Leidenschaft für die Musik sind schließlich ein weiterer, wichtiger Aspekt des Schaffens der einfach liebenswerten DRUNKEN FOOLS. Und genau so kann, soll und wird es gerne weitergehen. (Markus Eck)


Am 03. Februar 2019 veröffentlichte die Band das Lyrik-Video zum Album-Song "Teufelsgesicht:




DRUNKEN FOOLS • Online:

E-MAIL:
info@drunken-fools.com

𝗠𝗘𝗧𝗔𝗟𝗠𝗘𝗦𝗦𝗔𝗚𝗘 ᴳᴸᴼᴮᴬᴸ · DRUNKEN FOOLS "Teufelsgesicht"

TRACKS:
01. Cold (3:51)
02. Bebanburg (4:35)
03. Candlelight (3:02)
04. Fear Myself (4:37)
05. Escape (4:42)
06. Flame In The Wind (4:08)
07. Teufelsgesicht (3:54)
08. Vision Of Time (6:29)
09. Kjartan (3:39)
10. Rebirth (3:10)
11. Himmelsstieg (3:39)
12. My Treasure (2:45)
13. Tausend Fragen (4:35)

total: 53:32 min.

LINE-UP 2020:
Maleen Stangier • Gesang
Sönke Martens • Gitarre & Gesang
Frank Hauschildt • Bass
Jasmin Grünau • Keyboard & Gitarre
Viola Dolenc • Geige
Marcus Junge • Schlagzeug
+
Sebastian Reimers • Technik und Equipment

DISCOGRAPHY:
1997 Auch in Dir (Full-length)
1998 Flame In The Wind (Demo tape)
2018 Escape (Full-length)
2021 tba (Full-length)

DRUNKEN FOOLS sind verfügbar für interviews via Phone, Skype & E-Mail