Nordic melancholy

Base: Åsa, Ringerike • Norway
Genre: Folk Metal
Title: Takk Og Farvel; Tida Er Blitt Ei Annen
Format: Album
Label: Self-financed

The MYRKGRAV album "Takk Og Farvel; Tida Er Blitt Ei Annen" (translation: Thank you and farewell; times have changed) is difficult to give an unbiased description of. In essence, it is a follow-up to the 2006 debut album "Trollskau, Skrømt Og Kølabrenning", but needless to say a lot can happen in ten years.

Still, "Takk Og Farvel; Tida Er Blitt Ei Annen" represents a natural progression from what the debut album showcased: proper FOLK METAL with roots in the blacker side of the extreme Metal genres. "Takk Og Farvel; Tida Er Blitt Ei Annen" has been launched on all streaming services October 26th.

Online FDR download with full resolution cover art from Bandcamp as well as physical format CD and limited edition CD in collaboration with Pest Productions and METALMESSAGE • Global PR is also scheduled, but release dates are TBA.

The goal of MYRKGRAV has always been to create a natural fusion between Scandinavian Folk music and extreme Metal. Whilst perhaps being an overly ambitious goal, "Takk Og Farvel; Tida Er Blitt Ei Annen" further strengthens the Folk music elements of MYRKGRAV, without negating its extreme Metal roots.

One of the most important elements towards achieving a proper Folk and Metal blend was to incorporate traditional instruments into the songwriting process and giving them key roles in the compositions – rather than just to use them as a gimmick, which many so-called Folk Metal bands unfortunately suffer from.

Professional Hardanger fiddle artist Olav Luksengård Mjelva was hired to not only record Hardanger fiddle parts for "Takk Og Farvel; Tida Er Blitt Ei Annen", but also to aid in the production and arrangement stage of incorporating the instrument. The Hardanger fiddle is Norway’s national instrument, and adds another layer of the beautifully haunting Nordic Melancholy to MYRKGRAV's latest compositions.

As the title of the album reveals, "Takk Og Farvel; Tida Er Blitt Ei Annen" is also MYRKGRAV's farewell record and disbanding statement all in one. Times change and the man changes with them. With a decade separating the first and second full-length with only crumbs having been shared in-between, naturally aspects have changed both for fans and band alike during the excruciatingly long radio silence. Because of this, the new album encompasses everything that MYRKGRAV's has ever had to offer – or at least an attempt has been made, if we are making bold statements. As such, it was a natural choice to include re-arranged and re-recorded versions of a couple of old classic songs from the "Trollskau, Skrømt Og Kølabrenning" album, as homage to what most would probably call OG MYRKGRAV.

Like always, Lars Jensen presents to the world with MYRKGRAV, through the voice of music, local history and Folklore from Ringerike, Krokskogen, Nordmarka, Lommedalen and the other nearby areas surrounding where he grew up.

Back in 2006 Lars was but a 19 year-old folklore enthusiast – but is now at 29 a student of folklore and ethnology at Åbo Akademi University in Turku, Finland. Having access to a wide array of Folklore and folkloristic learnings has also strengthened MYRKGRAV's core value of exploring a culture unknown to most.

While not exactly time travel, MYRKGRAV aims to function as a looking glass into times past, its cultural oddities, values and stories. And while we are talking about stories, every single lyric for every song on the album will be illustrated with hand drawn illustrations in the style of famous Norwegian author, illustrator, painter and comic creater Kjell Aukrust.

MYRKGRAV is all about the full package. Not only is new music used to tell stories of times past, but the stories also deserve to come to life through visual representation. Hopefully these forgotten tales will come to life in the minds of the many, from all around the world, and take their place in history once more.

October 26th, 2016

01. Skjøn Jomfru 04:20
02. Vonde Auer 06:15
03. Bakom Gyrihaugen 05:21
04. Soterudsvarten 04:49
05. Om å Danse Bekhette 04:59
06. Spålsnatt 06:27
07. Tørrhard 03:59
08. Finnkjerringa 04:39
09. Østa Glette 05:17
10. Sjuguttmyra 04:30
11. Uttjent 03:58
12. Tviom! 04:14
13. Skjøn Jomfru 04:19
14. Takk Og Farvel 01:26

total: 60:04 min.

Lars Jensen - Composer, vocals, guitars, flutes and programming

Session members:
Olav Luksengård Mjelva - Hardanger fiddle
Erlend Antonsen - Bass guitar

MYRKGRAV • Contact: